Guest Blogger: Lori Z.

I would like to introduce Lori Z., a frequent commenter on this blog.  She has a story to tell and she inspires me as so many of you do.  I asked her to guest blog her story for you! I hope she will continue to share insight with us about her journey over time. 

Enjoy,
Chris H.

Lori’s Story

LBeforeAfter

I’ve been on a journey these past 8 months and I am now into my 9th month. What kind of journey you ask? My always constant battle of weight loss, but THIS time is different. I’m going about things in a whole new way. I lost 70 pounds by doing some very simple things. First and foremost, I drink a TON of water, close to 200 ounces a day. I had a smoothie for breakfast nearly every day, if not for breakfast, then for lunch. I eat a ton more fruit and veggies than I ever have before. I try to walk every day or do some form of exercise. Other than that, I eat normally, nothing is off limits. THAT is the difference this time. In the past I would tell myself I couldn’t eat “this or that” and I would be “good” for only so long before going stark mad and devouring everything in sight! NOT this time….if I want it, I have it, maybe only a little taste but enough to satisfy the craving. I have battled my weight my entire life it seems. I’ve been on Weight Watchers 3 times (starting in the 2nd grade and again in the 4th grade and once again much later). I’ve tried nearly every pill or “plan” out there, from Metabolite to First Fitness, Anna Nicole Smith’s wonder pill (forget the name now), Slim Fast (numerous times), Atkin’s, grapefruit diet, and even went to a Nutrisystem meeting once. More recently I ordered some products from It Works, specifically “The Greens” which gives your body 8 whole servings of fruits and vegetables. Now that product I DO love.

But then I happened to run across a documentary film called “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead” on Netflix back in Dec. and it knocked my socks off! It was miraculous to see how these folks transformed their bodies and lives just by going on a “juice fast”….nothing but fruit and veggies for X amount of days. Joe Cross (the filmmaker) did 60 days along with another fellow he met along the way, Phil Staples. So after much research (which included finding Chris and his wonderful blog here at Living on the Outside Aisle), my husband and decided to give it a GO! It’s not a diet and it’s not something you can do indefinitely, it’s called a “reboot”. You reboot your body by giving it tons and tons of veggies and fruit in juice form. It’s a “kick start” to a healthier you.

So I started my actual juice fast on Jan. 7th 2013 and just completed my 60 days on March 7th. My total weight loss for the juice fast is 32 lbs. making my TOTAL weight loss 102 lbs. since I’d already lost 70 lbs. before starting the 60 day juice reboot. I feel SO good and proud of myself for completing the full 60 days. Some days were harder than others but in the grand scheme of things, it really wasn’t THAT difficult. I will note that after the 1st 3 weeks of my reboot, I added in a salad with TONS of raw veggies for my dinner instead of juice. That was SO much for satisfying to me and I looked forward to my salads every night. (this is coming from someone who previously called salads “rabbit food” and I’m no rabbit lol.) I still cooked every day for my daughter (my husband is a truck driver so he’s away from home a lot) and I even baked a fabulous cake for my Mom along with Valentine goodies for my daughter and her 1st hour class and through it all, I did NOT have even ONE bite! (did I mention I make cakes and goodies of ALL kinds from my home?!) Anyway, I learned a trick as I was cutting brownies into heart shapes and that was, I kept water in my mouth at ALL times! There was no “sneaking a bite” when I had a mouthful of water lol.

So this is Day 3 now of my “wean back to eating” or as some call it “breaking the fast”. The first thing I had Friday morning was my smoothie made with vanilla yogurt (that I froze), 1/2 a frozen banana, 1/2 c. soy milk, and a small spoonful of peanut butter. It was DELIGHTFUL!! I am SO happy to be able to eat my smoothies again! I still have my “green” juice for lunch and for snacks I munch on carrots or a few unsalted raw nuts. I made up a big pot of veggie chili for dinner and it is SO GOOD! Last night instead of the veggie chili, I had my “usual dinner” of salad with tons of raw veggies because my husband was home and I didn’t want to eat in front of him since he is still on his juice fast, so we both had salad while our daughter enjoyed the veggie chili. I want to point out that my husband is doing this juice fast while on the road driving a truck, so if he can do it, ANYONE can do it!!

A couple other things to note, I did NOT use an actual juicer, instead I purchased the NutriBullet which is like a smaller, very high powered blender. Some would argue that I am truly not juicing but instead, blending, and I suppose that IS true to a point. But I still had fabulous results and instead of trashing all the pulp (that an actual juicer does), I instead drank the whole thing. It was very filling and required way LESS produce than an actual fast using a juicer. I did TONS of research on juicers and juicing versus blending but in the end, this is what worked best for us. My husband needed something smaller and easy to clean since he is a truck driver and the NutriBullet fit this bill. I will also say that it took some “trial and error” in getting recipes right with the NutriBullet since most all of the recipes online are for juicers. I didn’t want to follow the recipes that came with the NutriBullet because they consist of half fruit/half vegetables and that is too much fruit for every meal. Instead, you want to stick with 80% vegetables with 20% fruit with maybe a little more fruit thrown in for the breakfast juice. The biggest tip I learned IF you are going to use a NutriBullet or any other type of high powered blender is this, you need to ADD MORE WATER to the “juice” or else you will end up with what I call a “veggie slushy” and it was nasty to try to get down during my first 2 days of my reboot. (yes, it took me a couple days before it finally dawned on me that I needed to adjust the juice recipes to fit the NutriBullet cup AND add more water!) I’d be happy to share the recipes I used if you are planning to also use a NutriBullet so you won’t have to endure what I did lol.

So I’ll continue on with my “breaking the fast” and go from there….I don’t think I’m quite done yet but I have no specific “goal” in mind other than, just one day at a time. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Guest Blogger: Lori Z.

  1. Thanks Debbie! I will post all my favorite recipes here that I “altered” to use with the NutriBullet. (most of the recipes originally came from either rebootwithjoe.com or right here at Chris’s blog!) Quick side note, I always use the TALL cup that comes with the NutriBullet.

    Sunrise Juice (Breakfast)

    *10 baby carrots (or 2 regular carrots)
    *1 peeled orange (OR 1 kiwi plus 10 grapes)
    *1/2 peeled banana (OR 1 slice pineapple)
    *water to the max line

    Carrot Apple Ginger Juice (Breakfast)

    *8 baby carrots
    *1 apple, cored (could also add 1-2 slices fresh pineapple in addition to apple)
    *1/2 inch peeled ginger
    *water to max line

    Minty Fresh Berry Juice (Breakfast)‏

    *1 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)
    *1 kiwi (cut in half and scoop out the flesh)
    *8 strawberries
    *1 cup fresh mint leaves
    *water to max line

    Carrot Apple Lemon Juice (Breakfast)‏

    *10 baby carrots (or 2 regular carrots)
    *1 apple, cored
    *1/2 peeled lemon
    *water to max line

    Chris’s Basic Green Juice (Lunch or Dinner)

    *3 Romaine heart leaves (I cut them up a bit so they fit better) OR 2 handfuls baby spinach
    *10 grapes OR 4 strawberries OR 1 peeled orange
    *1/2 stalk of celery (again, you’ll have to cut it up to fit)
    *1/2 inch peeled ginger
    *5 baby carrots
    *water to max line

    Garden Variety Juice (Lunch or Dinner)‏

    *1 apple, cored
    *1/2 cucumber, sliced (whether you peel is up to you)
    *3 Romaine heart leaves OR 2 handfuls spinach
    *handful of parsley
    *water to max line

    Joe’s Mean Green Juice (Lunch or Dinner)‏

    *1/3 – 1/2 peeled cucumber
    *1/2 stalk celery (cut up)
    *1 apple, cored (green or red)
    *3 Romaine heart leaves OR 2 handfuls spinach
    *1/2 peeled lemon
    *1/2 inch peeled ginger
    *water to max line

    **Some of these recipes, like the Mean Green, you will definitely have to play with the consistency and probably add MORE water after it is blended. And sometimes, there are too many ingredients to fit in one batch, so I’d just fit what I could, then blend and pour into 1 quart glass jar and then make up the second batch, pour all together in glass jar, put lid on and shake.
    **It’s also very helpful if you can find the fat “milkshake” straws to drink it all down. (I found mine at Dollar General last year)

    Lori’s Green Juice (Lunch or Dinner) The BEST‏

    *3 handfuls or more of spinach (packed 3/4 of the way to the max line)
    *just under 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
    *1/2 frozen banana (sliced)
    *1/2 inch peeled ginger
    *water to max line

    *SMOOTHIE Recipes* (*please note*, these are NOT to be used while on a JUICE only fast due to the dairy content):

    Peanut Butter Bananna Smoothie (and other variations)‏

    *Non-Fat vanilla or Boston cream pie yogurt (I freeze them)
    *1/2 cup soy milk
    *1/2 frozen banana
    *1 small spoonful of peanut butter
    *splash of vanilla extract
    *water to max line

    I buy yogurt when it’s on sale and store in freezer. It’s harder for the NutriBullet to blend this than it is for my blender, so that is why I add the water. Let the frozen yogurt sit out for about 30 minutes before blending.

    *I use all flavors of yogurt blended with whatever fruit kind of matches it, no more than 1/2 cup or 1/2 a banana. (for example, strawberry cheesecake yogurt with 1/2 cup strawberries or blueberry yogurt with 1/2 cup blueberries or lime yogurt with 1/2 banana, all mixed with 1/2 cup soy milk and sometimes a splash of vanilla) Also, I only allow myself to have the peanut butter smoothie once a week.

    Pumpkin Banana Smoothie (I have yet to try this in my NutriBullet but I have made it in my blender prior to my juice fast)

    *1/2 cup pumpkin puree (I save yogurt containers and freeze the leftover pumpkin in 1/2 cup servings)
    *1/2 banana (frozen)
    *1 – non-fat vanilla yogurt, frozen
    *1/2 cup soy milk
    *3/8 teaspoon Truvia (or other sweetener of choice, *I would like to try this with agave*)
    *1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
    *1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    *cinnamon for topping

    Directions:
    Place all ingredients except cinnamon in blender and puree until smooth. Top with cinnamon and enjoy!

    This next recipe, I just found and gave it a try but I altered it from the get go even though it is straight from the NutriBullet website. (http://nutribulletblog.com/hearty-fruit-oat-blast/#comment) It has WAY too many calories “as is”. So, what follows is my trimmed down version, even at that, it’s still a hefty recipe.

    Hearty Fruit & Oat Blast

    *3-4 strawberries, fresh or frozen
    *1/2 banana, frozen
    *1/4 cup old fashioned oats
    *1/8 cup raw almonds
    *1 cup non-fat vanilla yogurt, frozen (or other flavor of your choice)
    *1/2 cup soy milk (you could totally omit this and just add more water, this was just my addition)
    *water to max line

    That’s it! Enjoy!! 🙂 Feel free to ask any questions!

Leave a Reply

